Friday, November 8, 2013

GUEST LAUNCH PARTY + GIVEAWAY: Daughter of the God-King by Anne Cleeland




Please give a warm welcome to fellow Sourcebooks author, Anne Cleeland, whose second historical fiction novel, Daughter of the God-King, hit stores this week!

New from Anne Cleeland:  Daughter of the God-King

Hello, fellow book lovers!  I was a mild-mannered lawyer and mother of four when I decided—like many people who love reading—that I would try my hand at writing the kind of stories I loved to read.  My favorite stories are about ordinary people swept up in extraordinary events, so that’s what I like to write.  

Daughter of the God-King is the second book in my Regency adventure series; the first was Tainted Angel, which came out last June.   Here’s the run-down:

The daughter of world-famous Egyptologists is living an uneventful life in England until her parents disappear while working their latest find in the Valley of the Kings.  Suddenly, the various factions from Napoleon’s last war are pursuing her, and she must travel to Egypt to unravel the mystery.  Along the way, she meets her parents’ enigmatic agent, who also appears to be pursuing her—although his reasons may be more personal than professional.  What secret is buried in the tomb of the god-king’s daughter?  The answer will change her life forever, and could set the world ablaze in yet another war.

There’s something fascinating about Egypt−it’s romantic and mysterious, and at this particular point in history it was also a strategic stronghold for those fighting the Napoleonic wars. The heroine has to decide whether to trust her heart, even though the consequences could impact the fate of the world.

The book has garnered a four-star rating from RT Book Reviews, and was also featured in a recent issue of Library Journal. I hope you enjoy it!  I love hearing from readers so find me at my website, www.annecleeland.com, and on Twitter, @annecleeland.

Thanks to Anne for visiting the Casa Blog today! To enter to win 1 of 2 copies Daughter of the God-King, tell us an exotic locale you’d love to visit someday! Open to US and Canada only, winner’s will be chosen on Monday, November 11. Please leave an email address so we can contact you easily. Good luck!

DAUGHTER OF THE GOD-KING BY ANNE CLEELAND
The Cursed Tombs of Egypt Hold Many Secrets...

Miss Hattie Blackhouse has never been close to her parents...and no wonder, since the Blackhouses are renowned scholars who spend most of their time excavating ancient tombs in Egypt. But news of their disappearance forces Hattie to leave England and embark on a voyage that will reveal the long-buried secrets of her past. An encrypted senet board and a gold medallion lead Hattie on a perilous quest to track down her missing parents—and discover why people associated with the Blackhouses continue to turn up dead. What she uncovers is a secret that could alter the course of history...
 
Filled with intrigue, romance, and ancient secrets, Anne Cleeland's thrilling novel takes you on an unforgettable Egyptian adventure.

Praise for Anne Daughter of the God-King

“Fans of Elizabeth Peters and Tracy Grant will fine Cleeland’s espionage thriller their cup of tea.” —RT Book Reviews, 4 Stars

“Fans of classic Agatha Christie, historical fiction, and light romance will all find something to enjoy in Cleeland’s latest outing.” —Library Journal

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Anne Cleeland holds a degree in English from UCLA as well as a law degree from Pepperdine University and is a member of the California State Bar. She writes historical fiction set in the Regency period and contemporary romantic suspense.  A member of the Historical Novel Society, she lives on Balboa Island, California and has four children. Her first novel was Tainted Angel. For more information, please visit www.annecleeland.com

19 comments:

  1. Is Hawaii exotic? That might be as exotic as I'm willing to get. I haven't been there, though, and would like to go.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Actually, Egypt sounds pretty good! Cheryl.brooks52@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. Congratulations, Anne, on the new release. It does sound exotic...did you go there for research? As for me, what Shana said. Hawaii is about as far as I'd want to go!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Congrats on your release, great premise :) BTW, I agree that Egypt is romantic and mysterious. One of my favorite Victoria Holt stories is Curse of the Kings :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I would love to see Australia myself. Congrats on the release. It looks great!
    campbellamyd at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  6. Morocco is someplace that I have always wanted to visit. Would love to wander around in the souk, try the food, drink the mint tea.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Regency AND Egyptian? You have me sold! I've always wanted to tour Asia.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Would like to visit Brazil

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  9. Thanks for your enthusiasm, everyone! My books always have a big twist, and this one's a doozy. Hope you enjoy!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hi, Anne! Congratulations on your new release! It sounds absolutely terrific!
    I would love to visit Egypt. You simply hear so much about it that it becomes engraved in the brain :-)

    justforswag(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

    ReplyDelete
  11. I would have to say New Zealand. I hear it's pretty uninhabited in lots of parts and it sounds gorgeous.

    catslady5@aol.com

    ReplyDelete
  12. I cannot participate in the giveaway, but I had to comment. I've just fallen in love with this novel. Yes, Egypt and adventure and romance make for an unforgettable read ;-)

    ReplyDelete
  13. Congrats for your new book! I have visited Scotland and no place on earth can replace this breathtaking country for me. nlaverdure88@videotron.ca

    ReplyDelete
  14. Your book sounds wonderful Anne, I'm looking forward to reading it. There are so many exotic locales I'd love to visit, but I'll choose Australia, it's such a vast country with so much to see that is so different from the US.

    ReplyDelete
  15. Anne-- Your books sounds fabulous! I am going to read it whether or not I win the contest! I'd love to go to Morocco!

    ReplyDelete
  16. Exotic?? I guess exotic is all in the eye of the beholder, eh? Exotic to me is empty beach space. Empty area to snorkel in. Historical places. My imagination can see the story happening.
    lisakhutson@ cox dot net

    ReplyDelete
  17. The randomly chosen winners of the giveaway are Nicole L and Barbara E. Congrats!

    ReplyDelete
  18. Oh my, I am so happy! I promise to write a review to thank Anne.

    ReplyDelete